top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

Chapter 3: To Kiss Or Not To Kiss

Doctors POV:


I had meant to take Amy to see Barcelona, a planet where dogs have no noses. However we ended up in New York about to ring in the year of 2015. A wonderful year really. So much had happened, had been achieved or been lost. The Pluto probe would begin to gather data from the dwarf planet. Mans first step to getting out of there own solar system.


But what was I thinking? Wasn't the New Year about reflection, past triumphs or memories, lessons learned? People looked to the future as much as they looked to their past. In hind sight, 2014 was a grand year. A year that saw us, lifting the bans on Cuba, Scotland voting to stay a part of Britain and so much more.


But just as I didn't get where I wanted to go, nothing ever seems to ever go as planed for me.


And so me, being me I saw that there was something wrong with the New Years Eve ball. It was using enough power to black out New York when it dropped. In fact I don't know how it has not blacked out yet.


So that's how I ended up running with Amy, following as best she could behind me in the crowd New York Streets. No one paid us any mind. After all odder things have happened in New York.


But one girl, I saw from the corner of my eye ran after us. And tried her very best to keep some form of pace with us. I didn't have much time to look at her but I did see that she had very light (same may even say dull) brown hair. Making it seem somewhere between brown and blond.


And just as I was going to stop and let her catch up with us, she was jerked to a stop.


My eyes widened when I saw the Cyber Drone that had a hold of her. I hard it say "You are a companion of the Doctor. You will come with me." And the look of confusion on her face before she was gone in the flash of a teleport.


"What was that?" Amy asked trying to catch her breath. As she followed me, to where the girl had been standing. I scanned it with my sonic screwdriver.


"That was a teleport and a girl taken by a Cyber Drone." But why did they take her and say she was one of my companions, I may not have gotten a good look at the girl but I sill didn't think I had ever met her.


"Come on we have to find them. Now!" I said grabbing Amy's hand and pulling her back into running.


Hihihihihihihihi


We ran up the stairs of Time tower rushing to get to the top. As we got to the top and I slammed open the door to the roof I herd a cry. And the cyber converter being used on the girl form before.


I held up my sonic and turned it off. I just heard her sigh then I was being scanned.


"You are not compatible you must be deleted!" The Cyber man said in its computery voice.


Amy and I ducked the shot. "Doctor what is that?" Amy cried out as we ducked behind one of the power boxes.


"It's a cyber man. Think Think Think…"


Then I heard a girl's voice call out "Its keeping the heat in!"


"Stay here." I told Amy and I moved out behind the box using my sonic to temporally stop the cyber man from shooting.


"What did you say?"


"Its keeping the heat in so I'm guessing that it doesn't do cold…"


"Doesn't do cold" we finished together.


"Oh that's brilliant! I could kiss you!" I moved to find where the heat was coming from.


"Well I'm a little tied up right now but maybe next time." I turn just in time to see her blush and look away from me a blush also staining my own cheeks as I fixed my bow tie.


I opened my mouth to say something, anything, when she said "It also keeps the sound out, I wonder why they did that."


"A thermal bubble… but where is it coming form." I turned to the still rebooting Cyber man. "What are you trying to do? What do you get form the ball dropping?"


"Our ship will come form our time to this. We will start over."


"So you're using the new year's ball as a time beacon, so that your ship knows where you are. But are you from the past or the future? Well you said one ship so you must be form the past. But how do you plan on working without heat… The thermal bubble but you can't expand one over the plant you would roast it. Then aging you don't need the plant you only need the people."


I spoke as I moved around trying to turn off the ball and the heat. I could see Amy move to the girl that was held down by the Cyber Converter and try to free her. Although she was not able to I held a lot of pride in her for trying.


"Duck!" The girl cried. Just as Amy did the shot the cyber man had meant for her hit one of the girls cuffs. It melted off and the hot metal oozed around her hand and puff black jacket. She let out a small cry and jerked her hand away.


Then she looked up and seemed to see something just as the next shot missed her by a hair.


I ran over and used my sonic to open the rest of her cuffs and help her and Amy up before we could get shot.


Three more shots went off as we tried to run for the door the final one hitting a control panel. Then a powerful gust of freezing cold air knocks us off our feet.


As we looked up we could see that the Cyber man was frozen in one place. Dead or off line what ever you would like to call it. Its metal confines unable to keep its living brain warm.


"Well that new. Never had one take its self out before." I said as I got up and helped Amy and the girl whose name I still had yet to get.


"Who are you?" I asked. I fixed her with a look that I hope made her tell me the truth but also wouldn't scare her.


"My name is Annika Van Tijd. And you must be this Doctor those things where talking about. And you are?" She turned to ask Amy.


"Amy Pond. It's nice to meet you Annika." Then they both turned to look at me. "So what now?"


"Now I have to clime up there and use my sonic screwdriver to disable the time beacon and keep the cyber men form coming in to our time." I said just as Annika grabbed the sonic from my hand and ran over to the flag pole that the ball was held up by.


"What are you doing?" I called out to her as I rush to follow her.


"Helping!" She called back a small smile on her face. As she claimed faster.


"You don't even know what your doing! And you could fall!" I yelled back as she reaches the bow inside of ball.


She didn't say anything back as she used the sonic to open the box.


Then the count down started.


10…


"Then tell me!" She called back.


8…


"You have to take out the blue and red and then switch them."


5…


"What now?" She cried after doing as I told her.


3…


"Use the sonic to boost the power and over load the system."


1…


She did just as I said but not before the ball falls taking her with it. A cry left her lips just as she let go and fell right in to my arms knocking me back. The sparks fell from the ball and the lights went out.


Then I felt lips pressed to mine. They were cold but soft, slow and sweet. And I kind of liked it. Then just as the lights came back on she pulled away and said "Well I'm not tied up now." Then moved as far form me as she could get. She wouldn't even look at me.




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page